Bill’s Books

Bill’s Books

Found myself with yet another hour to burn; per daily commute.

Just like in the old world, stories and whispers get passed from one to another, and so it is with this thing created by Tim Berners-Lee.

Never once thought that I would take to aggregated news, but here I am jumping from one story to another. Always thought that Aggregated news would not feel right; as they would be too “catchy” and lack “looseness of seriousness” as one might find in broader publications.

Knowing the Google boys and girls, the stories are probably personalized and tailored to each individual’s taste and interest based on past “reads”.

But, enough of the general stuff.

Ended up in Seattle; actually http://blog.seattlepi.com/thebigblog/2012/12/20/bill-gates-announces-his-top-10-reads-of-2012/.  There is a link on that page to Bill Gate’s best read of 2012.

Clicking on that one link took me to “My Top Reads in 2012”
(
http://www.thegatesnotes.com/Personal/My-Top-Reads-in-2012
)

Who ever knew that Bill blogs; good on him for quitting his Day Job @ Microsoft.  And, even further good that he even though he is CEO of one the World’s most valuable company he can still show a personal side; without risking shareholder’s value, etc.

Well his book list includes:

There a few good web articles on Bill, himself:

Bill’s Quotes

  • A first-generation fortune is the most likely to be given away, but once a fortune is inherited it’s less likely that a very high percentage will go back to society.
  • Hey, I don’t have to prove my position relative to my parents. I just have to figure out what I’m doing relative to the world.
  • The first rule of any technology used in a business is that automation applied to an efficient operation will magnify the efficiency. The second is that automation applied to an inefficient operation will magnify the inefficiency.
  • Capitalism is this wonderful thing that motivates people, it causes wonderful inventions to be done. But in this area of diseases of the world at large, it’s really let us down.
  • I do think this next century, hopefully, will be about a more global view. Where you don’t just think, yes my country is doing well, but you think about the world at large.
  • Success is a lousy teacher. It seduces smart people into thinking they can’t lose.
  • I’m sorry that we have to have a Washington presence. We thrived during our first 16 years without any of this. I never made a political visit to Washington and we had no people here. It wasn’t on our radar screen. We were just making great software.
  • To create a new standard, it takes something that’s not just a little bit different; it takes something that’s really new and really captures people’s imagination — and the Macintosh, of all the machines I’ve ever seen, is the only one that meets that standard.
  • The best way to prepare [to be a programmer] is to write programs, and to study great programs that other people have written. In my case, I went to the garbage cans at the Computer Science Center and fished out listings of their operating system.

Leave a Reply

