Microsoft – SQL Server – Cannot open user default database – Error 4064

Microsoft – SQL Server – Cannot open user default database – Error 4064

Cannot Open Default Database
Cannot Open Default Database

Since I already googled for this problem in the past, I already know what to do.

    Syntax:
       use <db-name>
       exec sp_change_users_login 'report'

    Sample:

       use [HRSales]
       exec sp_change_users_login 'report'

Result of running sp_change_users_login:


So the obvious next step is to align the user accounts listed.

Syntax:

    exec sp_change_users_login 'update_one'
                                , <user-name-in-currentDB>
                                , <sql-login>;

Sample:

    exec sp_change_users_login 'update_one', 'jazzyb', 'jazzyb';

Most of what I “blog” about is what I ‘ve learnt from others.

And, so it is easy to question the motivation.

One is that you give credit to others via Referencing them.

Another much subtle one is to give credence to other peoples work you come about via Google.

Yes, I wish Google takes me to exactly what I need, but as a lot of search is through Word proximity, sometimes one ends up at different places.

Another reason is that as human beings it is difficult to realize how much litte things add up and matter.

Here is one of my favorite from Barbara Bush:

You don’t just luck into things as much as you’d like to think you do. You build step by step, whether it’s friendships or opportunities – Barbara Bush

So do self a favor and ‘firewall’ future hurt by wishing others well and give a little.  If you do it a little at a time, it wouldn’t weigh you down, as much as you think it will.

Either you ‘re sharing or you ‘re hoarding. Once you decide to hoard, you will hurt when others don’t follow suit – Daniel Adeniji

Going back to the earlier point about the person who I should credit with this solution.  I really do not remember him\her; save for the fact I found him via Google.

But, I will leave you with some of my favorite Arundhati Roy quotes:

You know, I always believe that even among the best writers, there are selfish writers and there are generous ones. Selfish writers leave you with the memory of their book. Generous writers leave you with the memory of the world they evoked. To evoke a world, to communicate it to someone, is like writing a letter to someone that you love. It’s a very thin line. For me, books are gifts. When I read a book, I accept it as a gift from an author. When I wrote this book, I presented if as a gift. The reader will do with it what they want.

That’s what careless words do. They make people love you a little less.
― Arundhati RoyThe God of Small Things

Another world is not only possible, she is on her way. On a quiet day, I can hear her breathing.
― Arundhati Roy

Leave a Reply

