Microsoft – WMI – Query Tool (Ben Colemen)

In the last couple of months, I have played a bit with WMI and PowerShell.

It helps to have a good & reliable Query Tool.  And, I found Ben Coleman’s WMI Query Tool to work well.

But, lately, I have had problems getting it to connect to other namespaces (such as root\Microsoft\SqlServer\ComputerManagement).

So fought it with it a bit.

But, as always gave up.

That is till today when I visited Ben’s Blog @ http://www.bencoleman.co.uk/wmi-query-tool and read through other people’s comment (OPC).

One of the posters had the same problem back in Jan 10 2010.

Here is the question:

Hi Ben,
this served my well in the past for CIMv2 namespace.
Remotely On local machine
Query: works works
Class Viewer: works works
I’m trying with the MicrosoftIISv2 namespace and I get the following:
Remotely On local machine
Query: does not work does not work
Class Viewer: does not work works
Someone else writing about it validated my problems and somehow made me feel \ know that I was not just entering the data (namespace or query) correctly.

Anyways the fix is to:

  1. Click on the “Connect Menu”
  2. Select “Connect to Remote Machine”
  3. On the HostName entry field “Enter the Server’s name”
  4. On the NameSpace, enter NameSpace such as Root\Microsoft\SqlServer\ComputerManagement

Leave a Reply

